NJT VAT Return Manager (MTD)

(Bridging software for online filing of the MTD compliant VAT Returns to Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs)

Installing New Software Releases & Transferring your Data



The 'NJT VAT Return Manager (MTD)' bridging software is an application, within a Microsoft Excel workbook. As is the case with most Excel workbooks, your data is stored within the workbook.
Consequently, When new versions of the software are released, you will need to download the new 'Empty' workbook, then transfer your data to that workbook.
The Version 2.1 release, introduced an automated routine to transfer your data to new releases of the software.
The Version 3.7 release, introduced a routine to automatically move the old version to the 'Archive' sub folder after the transfer has completed.
Note: If your business 'Firewall' prevents use of 'Method 1' then you can manually transfer to the new version using 'Method 2'.



Method 1 - Via the NJT Bridging Software

Step 1: Check for a new version
  1. Click on the 'Check for New Product Version' button.
  2. If you are already using the latest version, a message will confirm this and no further action is required.
  3. If a new version is available, a form (Window) will be displayed, describing the new version.
Step 2: Download the new version
  1. Click on the 'Download' button.
    The new version of the workbook will be downloaded and saved automatically to the same folder as your current version.
Step 3: Transfer your data to the new version
  1. Click on the 'Transfer' button.
      The following events will occur.
    • A full Backup of your existing data will be saved to the sub folder 'Backup'.
    • The new version will be opened and your data will be transferred.
    • The current version will be saved, closed and moved the the sub folder 'Archive'.
    Note:
    Versions before V.37: After this process is complete, it is recommended that you move the previous version to the sub folder 'Archive' to avoid confusion as to which version to use.
    Version 3.7 onwards: After this process is complete, the previous version is automatically moved to the sub folder 'Archive' to avoid confusion as to which version to use.


Method 2 - Manual Installation via Backup and Restore


Under certain circumstances, your Business 'Firewall' may prevent the installation using the above method. Alternatively, you can use the following method.
For example, updating from version 4.4 to version X.X.
Step 1: Backup your data from version 4.4
  1. Open Existing Version 4.4.
  2. Click on the 'Administration Routines' button.
  3. Click on the 'Data Backup' button & follow the instructions.
  4. Click on the 'Save & Close' button.
Step 2: Download New Version X.X to the same folder as your existing version 4.4

Step 3: Restore your data to New Version X.X
  1. Open New Version X.X.
  2. When the 'Welcome' screen is displayed, Click on the 'Continue' button.
  3. When the 'User Guide' is displayed, Click on the 'Close' button.
  4. Click on the 'Administration Routines' button.
  5. Click on the 'Restore Backup' button & follow the instructions.
    Note: Select & Open the 'Backup' file, created in Step 1. Check the Dates where more than one file exists.
Step 4: Move Old Version 4.4 to the 'Archive' Folder
  1. Using Windows File Explorer, drag the Old Version 4.4 to the sub folder called 'Archive'.
    Note: The Old Version 4.4 should no longer be used.